Former Pearls of Service

Candra E. Parker

President 2019-2020

Candra Parker

Candra Parker’s administration saw Omega Rho Omega chapter’s attainment of the milestone of 50 members, as a result of the chapter’s reactivation efforts. With the theme of Mindful Sisterhood, Impactful Service, highlights included:


  • Built infrastructure and processes to transition Chapter Operations to virtual only environment, in accordance with safe practices established by our leadership.

  • First time serving as host chapter for the Regional Director’s 2019 Northern Western Cluster meeting, held at Virginia State University.

  • Kicked Off Annual Reactivation Day Events.

  • Premiered “Care for Care Givers” Workshop for the community.

  • Accomplishment of two chapter retreats each year, including the first Chapter Operations Retreat, Sisterly Relations Retreat and the Spiritual Retreat, “Fuel for the Fall”.

  • Launching of chapter website with a Members Only area. 

  • Acquisition of the chapter shield to support chapter branding and recognition

  • Participated in collaborations with metro-Richmond chapters for #CAP and Connection Committees.

  • Building relationships with elected officials and representatives of Henrico, New Kent and Charles City county schools.

  • First Chapter Evaluation with Regional Standards Committee.

  • Facilitated on-going relationships with churches in service area, including St. James and Antioch Baptist churches.


Ms. Parker was initiated into the Theta Kappa chapter at the University of Virginia in the Spring of 1982. She is a Silver Star.

Lisa Winn Bryan

President 2017-2018

Lisa Winn Bryan.png

Dr. Lisa Winn Bryan was installed on April 22, 2017 as the first president of the newly chartered Omega Rho Omega (ORO) chapter.


Winn Bryan’s focus was the establishment of ORO culture as a new chapter with the administrative theme Pursuing Chapter Excellence:


  • Creation of the names for the interest group, the Cultured Pearls of the James, the chapter newsletter, Pearl Press, and constant messaging that “We Help Each Other”

  • Chartering leadership in the service area of Charles City, the birthplace of the 22nd International President, Janet Jones Ballard; this was an administrative highlight of the 29th International President, Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson

  • The establishment of a sorority marker by the 18th Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, Joyce Henderson, on the campus of Virginia Union University for alumna, Janet Jones Ballard outside of the Allix B. James Chapel at Coburn Hall

  • First ORO chapter scholarship administered through a gift by Dr. Joseph Johnson, former interim president of Virginia Union University

  • ORO Adopt-A-Highway marker in Charles City, Virginia

  • Winn Bryan is a former interim vice president at Virginia Union University and strong supporter of HBCUs; there were many partnerships with VUU during the first ORO administration


Winn Bryan was initiated into the Lambda Chi chapter at James Madison University in the Spring of 1989. She is a Life Member.